Advice and Support for South Africans Immigrating to New Zealand

South Africans Going To New Zealand

Author Topic: Migrating from SA to NZ (Do you regret it)  (Read 14449 times)

Offline itbjcm

Re: Migrating from SA to NZ (Do you regret it)
« Reply #30 on: September 05, 2008, 02:17:38 am »
Right on, nearlythere.  My son was very unhappy in school back in SA.  He cried himself to sleep every night.  He is now in a wonderful school.  It is a very informal school yet their children are all happy, fulfilled human beings, they even do actual schoolwork there...
If SA school are so wonderful then I wonder why it is that SA don't even feature on the list of countries that do the best in literacy, maths and science but NZ does?
No way I regret our move.

Offline jafa77

• Certified Addict
« Reply #31 on: September 05, 2008, 08:24:45 am »
IM, I am sorry to hear that is your experience.

My experience has been the complete opposite. As a teacher I think the NZ system is far superior as this is proved in that NZ is doing well in international stats on literacy, science and maths. SA is about stone last!

Maybe you should try a good decile 10 state school.

Yes, the pace of life is slow. NZ is behind SA in many ways. We dont have cheap black labour here to build fancy shopping malls and huge highways. But its safe. I would rather die of boredom (which I am not) than be raped and murdered in SA......exciting I know, but not for me.

The kids at my school are as repectful as the state school I taught at in JHB.

But I suppose we all see it differently. I love it here. I love Auckland particularly. I would struggle to live in a small NZ town tho.

SA Going to NZ Advice Forum

« Reply #31 on: September 05, 2008, 08:24:45 am »

Offline ronaldd

• Certified Addict
« Reply #32 on: September 05, 2008, 09:30:11 am »
only regret i have is that SA turned  out the way it did.. i would want to be there if it was safe... but i do not regret leaving it for a safer place like new zealand.