Advice and Support for South Africans Immigrating to New Zealand

South Africans Going To New Zealand

Author Topic: Family murder gives us fresh motivation!!  (Read 3712 times)

Offline Jen T

Family murder gives us fresh motivation!!
« on: January 03, 2008, 03:53:09 pm »
Hi all
We received some sad news this am.  My husband's uncle was shot during a dinner party in Jhb.  He was 75 years old and was visiting family in Bryanston.  He was a man who loved this land passionately and was a birder who was known throughout SA.  We were meant to tell my hubby's folks about our plans over Xmas, but the time was not right.   Now we feel able to do this.  Got on the phone to my agent this am and she is going to rush through my teacher reg.  We only have 130 points because I am a primary school teacher and my husband a farmer.  I will need a job to get the points we need to be chosen for our EOI.  Some of you will recall that we have a special needs child and so this complicates matters.  We need the job to get the points to have the medicals to be able to submit!!!!!
Our initial reaction this morning was to get on the next plane, but after calming down, realistically, we have a business to sell and teaching posts that are available now don't give us enough time to sort things out here.  We are going to head over in Sept when the 2009 post are advertised as well as sending off CV now to the Hamilton area to all the school.  Perhaps something will come up during the year.  Sorry, I'm rambling a bit!!
We envisage some problems but are more determined.  I have been hijacked, so have my sister and her husband, and my father-in-law.  My husband had his head fractured by a gun years ago and so we feel that this last incident will really help my in-laws to understand and support us. Thanks for all the posts here that have hel;ped
EOI submitted 2 July 2008 120 points no job selcted! 3 July 2008

Offline ANTONK

• Resident
Re: Family murder gives us fresh motivation!!