Advice and Support for South Africans Immigrating to New Zealand

South Africans Going To New Zealand

Author Topic: Sitting on the Fence  (Read 1256 times)

Offline GeraldH

Sitting on the Fence
« on: January 30, 2007, 01:44:53 pm »
HI all !

My wife and I have been debating the "stay or go " thing for about two months now, today we made the decision to find out all we can about moving to NZ, I have been in the IT industry for the last 8 years and my wife has been a PA with your favorite telecoms company for the last 14 years so hopefully we will be able to get over there on skills visas.

Cheers for now!

Gerald & Michelle

Offline Nolan

• Administrator
  • Supreme Being
  • Stanmore Bay, Auckland
    • Art by Nolan
Re: Sitting on the Fence
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2007, 02:58:17 pm »
Hi guys, glad you found us.

It is a difficult decision whether to leave or not. I always wanted to emmigrate, but mever knew when or where. My wife had never bothered thinking about it. Then our daughter was born and it was as if our eyes suddenly went open to the reality of what is happening here.

I will never tell you to stay or go, that is a choice you guys will have to make together, however we are here to support you through that decision and if you decide to go to NZ, then you are in good company here.

Here are our personal reasons for leaving :

a) Rotten education for our daughter
b) No realistic job prospects for her either
c) Crime that is spiralling out of control with no end in sight
d) BEE that is slowly tightening it's grip on our economy and will soon affect our business
e) Fed up with our corrupt government that discriminates worse than the previous one, lets criminals out everytime someone has a b'day, supports Mugabe, does nothing about crime, etc., etc.
f) We would have left anyway for the adventure
g) To earn money that is worth something so that we can travel without it costing your pension.
h) Who wouldn't want to live on an island?