Advice and Support for South Africans Immigrating to New Zealand

South Africans Going To New Zealand

Author Topic: Worried - advice needed  (Read 3193 times)

Offline Darter

Worried - advice needed
« on: May 16, 2013, 03:15:02 pm »
Hi all! Please i need advice/prop up regarding moving to New Zealand.

We are in the process of the emigration process but i am (for want of a better term) starting to get a bit wobbly about the whole thing  :help:.

The reasoning is simple, i have been reading in various places that finding jobs there is not so easy and i would hate to pack up my family to move there and then only have to come back because i couldnt find a job. I am an accountant (not CA) have a degree, 10 years experience in the auditing field and 2 1/2 years as a financial manager in a medium size manufacturing company.

We really love the thought of NZ and the prospect of a better life, the only thing holding me back from being ecstatic about the move is the specter of failing to to get a job.

What do you guys think?? Pull the plug or go ahead and see where the dice land?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline BeninCPT

Re: Worried - advice needed
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2013, 08:15:21 pm »
Hi Darter
I wobbled for almost 3 years before finally coming here.
After 4 weeks with no replies to my applications I started to wonder if I did the right thing(I am in IT which I thought would guarantee me and almost instant job)

I have spoken to people that came over and had interviews in their first week and had job offers the second, others waited 2 months and I know of one that was here for almost a year.

The choice is yours - With determination I am sure you will find a job, but it might not happen immediately. Prepare for that.

But if I had to do it all again, I would. I would just make sure I build more contacts in the industry on this side before coming.