Advice and Support for South Africans Immigrating to New Zealand

South Africans Going To New Zealand

Author Topic: Newbies  (Read 1778 times)

Offline SAUKSANZ

Newbies
« on: June 01, 2014, 04:20:25 pm »
Hi all
I am super excited to have just joined this forum,
Can mean only 1 thing  :D

We want to start the process to get our little family to nz

Ok loooooong story

My hubby is 41 in August he has worked in the heavy duty equipment maintenance field for years
We lived in the uk for 6 years in that time he worked as an international service engineer working
on compressors turbines pumps etc also lots of work experience off shore on various platforms

This is the area I feel hurt us:

He went and finally qualified last year (2013) as a diesel mechanic through Merseta
His current job title is field service manager
And he has only been qualified for a year!

I am 40 next year and we have an 11 year old daughter.
I am a PA/bookkeeper/office manager -currently a contract co ordinator - I have a bookkeeping diploma from city and guilds

We all hold SA & UK passports

So after a brief introduction

What would be our best way forward do we apply for perm res or try find job offers then apply for work visa to perm res?

Is anyone else in a similar situation that can offer more advise I would really appreciate it

Looking forward to many happy chat on the forum

Cheers for now

Nats

Offline TheJo

Re: Newbies
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2014, 09:27:34 pm »
Hi Nats,

Have you tried taking the EOI points test on the INZ website? If you know how many points you qualify for, if your work is skilled and if it is on a shortage list, it could give you the information you need to decide on a direction.

:gl2:
11 Feb 15: Residence visa approved

SA Going to NZ Advice Forum

« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2014, 09:27:34 pm »

Offline Dan

• Happy for people to friend me on FB as well.
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2014, 02:42:27 am »