Advice and Support for South Africans Immigrating to New Zealand

South Africans Going To New Zealand

Author Topic: A dream that just does not want to quit...  (Read 1183 times)

Offline smcspan

A dream that just does not want to quit...
« on: July 07, 2011, 11:33:32 am »
Ah, alas, we are saying good bye to my OH's cousin and his wife tonight. 

They've been living in Auckland for nearly a year and a half.. might even be two, and they've been visiting here.

I cling to every word they say, even though I think they've reached the two year mark where the honeymoon has started to fade.  They are missing home, things start becoming a reality.  He's lost his job a week before coming, and she's longing for a simpler life.  Still... I think when you put things into perspective, they've got a lovely life there!

I've been wanting to go so bad but it just isn't working out for us at the moment.  (I'm studying hard and trying to get my papers!)

We've decided to buy a house, and settle down for a bit before trying again.

But still... I think about it every day.  I go onto Flickr and look at photo's of New Zealand.  I look at places to live in.  I look at work.  I pray extremely hard.  And yet, it's not meant to be just yet.

So even if it's exciting to buy a house, I just can't shake this feeling that I wish it was us leaving on a plane tomorrow and heading to a life somewhere else.

Ah, it's so bad when you pray for something and it just doesn't want to happen!  Must learn patience I guess...

Maybe one day, hopefully soon! :)

Offline 2GatJakkals

Re: A dream that just does not want to quit...
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2011, 03:34:56 pm »
What is it that keeps you from going?
EOI selected Sept 2011, ITA received Oct 2011, ITA submitted 23 Feb 2012.
Job offer received 10 Apr 2012, Applied for WP 16 Apr 2012, WP issued 24 May 2012, Wife started working in Wellington 1 June 2012.
PR approved 18 July 2012, House in Pretoria sold Oct 2012, Arrived in NZ 1 Dec 2012